Advertising:

Travel Austria - Palais Ferstel Palace Vienna
Travel Austria

Palais Ferstel Palace Vienna

The history of the building goes back to the year 1651. In that year Duke Ernst von Abensperg und Traun gave the order to extend the building and bought the neighbour houses to create a magnificent palace. According to the duke, the building was known as "Palace Abensperg-Traun" a long time.

In 1652 the palace became famous when the first water pipe in Vienna was installed. 

When the Turkish army tried to take Vienna in 1683 the palace was destroyed through a fire. The building was rebuilt in 1700.

The Palais Ferstel received its todays architecture between the years 1856 and 1860 by "Ringstrassen architect" Heinrich von Ferstel. Ferstel was inspired by his long trips through Italy.

During the second world war the Palais was destroyed again. From 1988 to 1989 Palais Ferstel was restored and revitalized.

palais ferstel vienna palace

The entrance to the Palais Ferstel.

palais ferstel vienna palace

Leaving Palais Ferstel to the Herrengasse.

palais ferstel vienna palace

palais ferstel vienna palace

Cafe Central in Palais Ferstel was opened in 1860.

palais ferstel vienna palace

Walking away from Cafe Central.

Powered by CMSimple | Template Design by CMSimple-Styles
Advertising: